2020-We’re 8 Months In

Boys and girls we have made it to September. Yes, only September but maybe this will be better than the other 8 months of this year. So, seen as I am back at school, and I don’t know really what else I can say about going back anymore, I thought I could look back at my year so far. And what a year we have had.

So January. What the hell did I do in January. And no I am not going to look at photos now to see what was January. Ok that was useless as all my photos from January are of memes. So lets try remember. I started my last full year of High School education, 2020 will be a year I never forget in school. January came straight after my prelims and while they may have not gone as planned, at least I had exams to look forward to fix it? I guess more on that later, though we know what happens. I guess in the world, well it was on fire. And we all thought we were going to WW3. I guess January wasn’t actually that exciting, it was a month of assignments and preparing for absolutely nothing. Omg and how could I forget Brexit. We actually left the EU what 3/4 years later, and technically we still havent. I mean I don’t agree with it but democracy sucks.

So yeah lets move on to February. I went on holiday for the first and only time this year. My annual trip to Center Parcs was when Miss Rona started showing face and we all probably began to take a wee bit of notice on it. I guess apart from that, I turned 16 and kept doing my assignments. In school we had a bongos bingo night for the 6th year prom, and really that was it. Looking back I really did do nothing all year, let alone during lockdown.

Moving onto March. Ahh March, the month where everything went downhill. You know it started off well, Melfest was great and my favourite won. There were good songs for Eurovision being announced left, right and centre. Hockey was going well too, if I remember rightly, though I am not going to research that because then I’ll find out the fact that we probably lost everything. But then that’s when it begun to go downhill. Schools were announced to close, we all thought that meant like 3 weeks, 6 weeks tops. Not 6 months. Then Eurovision got cancelled. I remember getting to the end of that Wednesday and sitting with my Gaelic teacher crying. I mean like I went outside into the hall to breakdown. I made the joke that when we went back to school and I talked to her again, it was in the same place I was crying 6 months prior. But then I guess it started to improve. As seen on the blog already, I was able to paint my room finally. Do things I have been planning for years and had time to myself. I also got into baking a lot at the end of march. I probably gained a lot of weight from that. So my summary of March. Mixed. Very mixed.

So then came April, and more sitting about. I guess the highlight of April was my Eurovision nights at the end of the month. Organising that Eurovision night was the best thing that I have done and I loved it. I think out of all of lockdown that was the best 3 nights. Apart from that April was unexciting. I did my Big Quiz at the start of the Easter Holidays and went on some walks. But they were along the main road in my town and then back. Out of all of lockdown April was the hardest for these things. I really had no where to go and was stuck in my own mind most days. Being stuck inside sucks and it is something I would avoid now on. I guess April brought me closer to those true friends. With the online lessons starting I was able to talk to some teachers, and also then find out who cared for me properly. This did become the month of zoom calls with friends and family and also a time of slight reflection. My brother and I did get a lot closer and we would spend days playing games with each other etc. I guess thats the few positives of April.

May came round and I think that this was the hardest month of them all. Personally, I was happy, we continued the group calls, lockdown looked to ease soon and everything else was actually fun. But on top of that there was the overshadowing feature. Eurovision. I struggled in May cause of this. Eurovision is one of those events I look forward to every year and it just felt wrong without it. I felt lost through May. I mean yes, they did well and put things on. But the shows were depressing, they didn’t light up the situation and they really did just make you go “oh god theres a global pandemic going on.” I actually don’t know what happened in May. Staying at home was the trend for all of these months wasn’t it. I guess it was the rules. Even looking through photos you can see how unexciting a month it was. The weather was decent though.

Moving to June and lockdown finally eased. I met one of my best mates first and it was both the weirdest day and one of the best. It was so good to get to see people in person again, but you were apart and it’s hard to find places to go to where we could distance but also sit and talk. But yeah I think that was possibly the best day of June, getting that human contact again was amazing. June was also the month I got back into reading again properly. Like I was able to read a book in a couple days. I do want to do a post on that, like the books I read throughout and other books I would recommend. Reading just gave me something to do at night when I would normally watch YouTube or sit on my phone. I forced myself to get off my phone. I also in the same month returned to school twice for well different reasons. One being to collect an accordion that I played once over lockdown and then was too lazy to touch again. I probably should’ve played some more of it. I also had to go in to get Gaelic books, it was actually fun to go in. I ended up getting some inside information about the new rules that were in place then and also the way the school was going to be layed out. I guess what was weird was the fact that I saw all of that, the distancing, the seating and all the rules, and now they have all been left. It feels wrong at points looking back, looking back to see what blended learning could’ve been and wasn’t.

Right this is getting long so I’m going to merge July and August together. This blog came as an idea to me at the start of July and at the end of July it started and I think you are all fed up of me writing about whatever it is that I write about on this. But I guess July and August were the best months so far of this year. I think yous have all seen that, I have had fun with my mates and got into writing again. This blog is the best decision i made during lockdown, I have loved writing it. It’s something I have to continue through the rest of the year and as long as I can after that.

So em that was my 2020 so far. I don’t think this year has been that exciting. A mean come on I was meant to go to Canada but Miss Rona ruined that for me didnt she. I guess thats the only thing I am sad to have missed out on. It has been a good year giving the circumstances. I have got so much closer to those that I love which is just great.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started